The Seven Sacraments

Sacrament of Baptism

The Sacrament of Baptism, the first of the three sacraments of initiation (the other two being Confirmation and Holy Communion).  It is also the first of the seven sacraments in the Catholic Church. It removes the guilt and effects of Original Sin and incorporates the baptised into the Church, the Mystical Body of Christ on earth.Most people are baptised when they are babies but people can be baptised in the Catholic Church at different stages of life.  During the Baptismal service the Font is used.    There is a bowl in the font that holds holy water.  When someone is baptised, the Priest or deacon pours holy water over their head and says that he baptises them "in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy spirit". St Charles' Church offer Baptismal classes which help prepare parents before their child's Baptism. These are organised by our Spirituality Group.  A Baptismal Register is kept by the Group and a card is sent on the Child's bapitsmal anniversary.


Sacrament of Holy Communion

While Catholics in the West today normally make their First Communion before they receive the Sacrament of Confirmation, the Sacrament of Holy Communion, the reception of Christ's Body and Blood, was historically the third of the three sacraments of initiation. This sacrament, the one we receive most often throughout our lives, is the source of great graces that sanctify us and help us grow in the likeness of Jesus Christ. The Sacrament of Holy Communion is also sometimes called the Eucharist. 


Sacrament of Confirmation


The Sacrament of Confirmation is the continuation among the faithful of the descent of the Holy Spirit upon the Apostles at Pentecost. The gifts of the Holy Spirit that they received that day come to us first at our baptism, but they are increased and perfected in our confirmation as a sign of our participation in the Church that came into being on that first Pentecost.


Sacrament of Marriage

marriage picture 2.jpg

Marriage, a lifelong union.  It is also one of the seven sacraments of the Catholic Church. As a sacrament, it reflects the union of Jesus Christ and His Church. The Sacrament of Marriage is also known as the Sacrament of Matrimony.

Matrimony is usually defined as marriage or the state of being married, and sometimes as the ceremony of marriage.


Sacrament of Confession

The Sacrament of Confession, also known as the Sacrament of Penance and the Sacrament of Reconciliation, is one of the least understood, and least utilised, sacraments in the Catholic Church. In reconciling us to God, it is a great source of grace, and Catholics are encouraged to take advantage of it often, even if they are not aware of having committed a mortal sin.

Times for Confessions:at St Charles'
         -Thursday:  9.30 - 9.50 am
         - Saturday:  9.30 - 9.50 and
           4.30 - 5pm.  Also after 5pm Mass


Sacrament of Anointing the Sick

annoiting the sick.jpeg

Traditionally referred to as Extreme Unction or Last Rites, the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick is administered both to the dying and to those who are gravely ill or are about to undergo a serious operation, for the recovery of their health and for spiritual strength.



Sacrament of Holy Orders

The Sacrament of Holy Orders is the continuation of Christ's priesthood, which He bestowed upon His Apostles. There are three levels to this sacrament of ordination: the episcopate, the priesthood, and the diaconate.